Skip to main content

Using SyncPlay

SyncPlay is a feature that allows you watch videos in sync with other participants in your room using shared playback controls. Basically, a watch party where everyone sees the same frame of a video file at the same time as one another.

The SyncPlay button will only be visible in rooms that have files assigned to them. By default, SyncPlay is off.

  • Click the SyncPlay toggle to turn on SyncPlay (this is an individual toggle for each participant, one participant turning SyncPlay on or off will not affect the SyncPlay status of other participants)
  • Click the bell icon to prompt other participants to also turn on SyncPlay

When two or more participants have SyncPlay turned on, then all video playback controls - pause, play, seek, frame-by-frame seeking, skip to next / previous source - will be synchronized between those participants.

You can turn off SyncPlay to 'leave the sync', meaning that any actions you take with SyncPlay off will not affect other participants. To 'join the sync' again, simply turn on SyncPlay.